NSS unit of Justice Basheer Ahmed Sayeed College for Women functions with the strong spirit of serving people keeping in mind the policy of ‘NOT ME BUT YOU’. It aims to instill a feeling of social responsibility among students and provides unbiased community service. The National Student Service scheme is categorized into four units, each with 100 student volunteers. These 400 NSS volunteers are guided by four Programme Officers. The Regular National Service Scheme Certificate is awarded to students who complete 120 hours of service over the course of two years.
Our college's NSS unit provides a platform for student volunteers to help the community and understand more about needs and challenges of the less fortunate. They are ingrained with a feeling of social and civic responsibility, as well as leadership skills and democratic views. Through a range of Community Service Programs, the NSS shapes the personality and attitude of JBAS NSS Volunteers.


  • To develop and strengthen the ability to understand self.
  • To develop capacity in students to find practical solutions to individual and community problems.
  • To raise awareness and promote social change in the adopted localities; to improve the quality of life of the underprivileged.


  • Organize and plan Community Development Programmes to bring in transformation in the lives of socially and economically deprived communities.
  • To train the volunteers to meet emergencies and natural disasters.
  • To imbibe the spirit of nationalism and work for social harmony.

Programme Officers:

From 2015-2021: Dr. I. S. Parveen Sultana, Dr. P. Lalitha, Dr. Agthar Begum and Dr. Malika.
From 2021-2024: Dr. Zubaidhunisa, Dr. Sameena Banu, Dr.Bhuvaneshwari amd Mrs. A. K. Hidayath Unnissa Begum.